Celestial Wisdom and Cosmic Guidance

Cycle of dashas and bhuktis

In Vedic astrology, the cycle of dashas and bhuktis follows a specific pattern. The starting point is determined by the position of the Moon at birth. The sequence of planetary periods (dashas) generally includes the major planets, such as Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury, Ketu, and Venus, in a specific order.

Each dasha is further divided into sub-periods (bhuktis) that correspond to the other planets in the sequence. For example, during the Sun dasha, the sub-periods would include Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury, Ketu, and Venus, in that order. These sub-periods occur within the overall duration of the main dasha and bring in the influences of the respective planets.

The duration of each dasha and bhukti varies based on the system used in Vedic astrology. The most commonly used system is the Vimshottari dasha system, which assigns specific years, months, and days to each planet. The total duration of the Vimshottari dasha cycle is 120 years, with each planet ruling a certain number of years.

During the dasha and bhukti periods, the significations of the ruling planet and the sub-period planet become prominent in the individual’s life. The effects of these periods can manifest in various areas, such as career, relationships, health, spirituality, and personal growth. The specific combination of dasha and bhukti influences, as well as the planetary placements and aspects in the birth chart, determine the nature and timing of events.

It’s important to consult a qualified Vedic astrologer to accurately calculate and interpret the dasha and bhukti periods for an individual’s birth chart. They can provide personalized insights into the timing and themes of significant life events based on the planetary influences during specific periods.


Explore more

error: Content is protected !!